News and Features

European Union Monitoring Mission, Georgia hosted a group from both Houses of Parliament of Ireland

On October 31, an Irish visiting delegation to Georgia composed of politicians from both Houses of Parliament, Dáil Éireann and Seanad Éireann, led by Cathaoirleach (Chairman) of the Seanad, Denis O Donovan, visited the EU Monitoring Mission (EUMM) Georgia. Acting Head of Mission, Mr. Erik Hoeeg greeted the group, accompanied by two members of the Irish EUMM contingent. In his opening remarks, Mr. Hoeeg welcomed the visitors and thanked for their interest in the Mission, and acknowledged the continuing support of Ireland to the EUMM. Kieran Dalton, Senior Mission Analyst, briefed the Irish group. Michael Callan, Mission Security Officer also attended. Des Doyle, Head of Press and Public Information Section, was unavailable to attend the visit. The briefing covered the current EUMM Mandate, timeline of notable events since the outbreak of hostilities in 2008, and the monitoring situation along the Administrative Boundary Line (ABL) with the breakaway regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia. 

The visiting Irish delegation, in addition to the Cathaoirleach, included Senator Diarmuid Wilson, Senator Paddy Burke, Deputy Pat Buckley TD, Deputy Margaret Murphy O’Mahony TD, John Hamilton Head of the Inter parliamentary Relations Department and Aisling Hart, Advisor to An Cathaoirleach.

Acting Head of Mission, Erik Hoeeg, meets the group and introduces Kiran Dalton, representative of the Irish contingent 

Acting Head of Mission opens the meeting by highliting the role of Ireland in the work of Mission 

From left to right: John Hamilton, Head of Inter-parliamentary Relations Department, Margaret Murphy O’Mahony TD, Michael Callan, Mission security officer, Paddy Burke, Senator, Kieran Dalton, Mission Senior Analyst,  Denis O Donovan, Cathaoirleach (Chairman) of the Seanad, Pat Buckley TD, Diarmuid Wilson, Senator

Follow us on social media